The Progressive Arkansas Women PAC is throwing a fund-raiser tonight from 6 to 8 at the Albert Pike Masonic Center to help 54 women on the ballot in Arkansas.

Some 300 people are expected, including about 25 of the endorsed candidates.


Tickets may be purchased at They cost $75, but more will be accepted (up to $5,000).

The PAC began recruiting women candidates last year


“Last year we urged progressive women to ‘Run, Sister, Run.’ We recruited and we trained them. Now, we have endorsed 54 women candidates in the November general election. We need to raise funds so these women are elected.” That’s Bettina Brownstein talking about the surge of women candidates running for office in Arkansas this year. Ms. Brownstein is one of the founding members of Progressive Arkansas Women PAC, a state level PAC that is dedicated to increasing female representation in elected offices in the state. Currently, women comprise less than 20 percent of the Arkansas Legislature.

Their candidates:

Gayatri Agnew • State Representative, District #93
Joni Alexander • Pine Bluff City Council, Ward #2, Pos. #1
Tara Armstrong • JP, Saline Co., #7
Monica Ball • State Representative, District #39
Christi Berry • JP, Faulkner Co., #9
Julie Blackwood • JP, Pulaski Co., #4
Debra Buckner • Pulaski Co. Treasurer
Christina Cereghini • JP, Saline Co., #3
Linda Chesterfield • AR Senate, #30
Nicole Clowney • State Representative, District #86
Christie Craig • State Representative, District #96
Lynsandra Curry • Columbia Co. Circuit Clerk
Esther Dixon • JP, Garland Co., #3
Joyce Elliott • AR Senate, #31
Jo Elsken • JP, Sebastian Co., #12
Laurie “Harrie” Farrow • JP, Carroll Co., Dist. 3
Vivian Flowers • State Representative, District #17
Lesa Ray Freeland • Lafayette Co. Sheriff
Melissa Fults • AR Senate, #33
Karen Garcia • Hot Springs City Council, #5
Denise Garner • State Representative, District #84
Megan Godfrey • State Representative, District #89
Laura Hanson • JP, Saline Co., Dist. #1
Rene Henderson • JP, Faulkner Co.
Cass Henry • JP, Saline Co., #9
Terri Hollingsworth • Pulaski Co. Circuit Clerk
Jené Huffman-Gilreath • State Representative, District #94
Susan Inman • Secretary of State
Sarah Jones • JP, Independence Co., #11
Kathy Lewison • JP, Pulaski Co., #3
Leah Livengood • Sebastian Co. Coroner
Asele Mack • JP, Benton Co, #15
Brie Madden • JP, Benton Co., #6
Jess Mallett • State Representative, District #32
Tippi McCullough • State Representative, District #33
Cortney McKee • JP, Garland Co., #9
Kathryn Merry • Carroll Co. Treasurer
Charlene Rolanda Robinson • Jacksonville City Council, Ward #2, Seat 1
Valeria Robinson • JP, Sebastian Co., #8
Sarah Scanlon • North Little Rock School Board
Jamie Scott • State Representative, District #37
Lou Reed Sharp • State Representative, District #80
Susan Simkowski • JP, Sebastian Co., #13
Maureen Skinner • AR Senate, #35
Emily Sledge • Washington Co. Clerk
Kelly Scott Unger • State Representative, District #87
Dianna Varady • JP, Pulaski Co., #1
Janet Troutman Ward • Pulaski Co. Assessor
Tara Ward • Conway City Alderman, Ward 4
Kathy Webb • Little Rock City Director, Ward 3
Celeste Williams • State Representative, District #95
Jeanne Wilson • Sebastian Co. Treasurer/Assessor
Jackie Wright • JP, Faulkner Co., Dist. 5
Teresa Wright • JP, Saline Co. #6