The U.S. House voted Thursday to block Donald Trump’s emergency declaration on the southern border but the Democratic majority was joined by only 13 Republicans. None of the four Arkansas Republicans in Congress voted against Trump.

Action now moves to the Senate, where opposition to Trump’s declaration includes at least a few Republicans, though it’s unclear if there are enough to override a Trump veto should he measure pass.


The Constitution or the president, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi asked during debate. The answer from Arkansas was Trump.