Jurors Les Christiansen, Shea Hembrey and Brian Young selected three works to receive cash awards at the “Delta Exhibition” and three honorable mentions, and the Contemporaries art group of young members selected one work for a cash award.

The Grand Award of $2,500 went to Lisa Krannichfeld of Little Rock for “New Skin” (above), 2018, Chinese ink, watercolor, acrylic, paper collage and toned cyanotype on paper mounted on board and covered with resin (36 by 36 by 2 inches).


Two Delta Awards worth $750 were awarded, one to Anais Dasse of Little Rock for “Sticks and Stones,” 2017, oil, ink, charcoal and pencil on gessoed paper (48 by 80 inches); and Arkansas native Louis Watts of Burlington, N.C., for “Carbon Alphabets (The Ship Minerva Series),” 2015-18, graphite on paper (60 by 42 1/2 inches).

Honorable Mention awards went to Aaron Calvert of Arkadelphia for “Always Facing South Bear,” 2017, glazed stoneware (40 by 23 by 13 inches); Tim Hursley of Little Rock for “Pine Bluff Mortuary,” 2017, chromogenic color print (30 by 40 inches); and James Matthews of Little Rock for “Eviction Quilt No. 3 (Green Medallion),” 2017, hand-tied quilt made from jeans and dress recovered from an eviction (86 by 68 inches).


The Contemporaries Award of $250 went to Ray Allen Parker of Fayetteville for “Post Punk,” 2017, oil on canvas (60 by 48 inches).

Of the 52 artists whose works were chosen for the show, 31 were Arkansas residents. (There were 1,424 entries by 618 artists in total). In addition to those named, they were John Allison, David Bailin, Robyn Horn, Jeff Horton, Charles Henry James, Donna Pinckley, Aj Smith, Cary Smith and Marjorie Williams-Smith, all of Little Rock; Ian Campbell of Batesville; Melissa Cowper-Smith of Morrilton; Warren Criswell of Benton; Tessa Davidson of Cabot; Daniel Franke of North Little Rock; Neal Harrington and Tammy Harrington of Russellville; Benjamin Krain and Jason McCann of Maumelle; Cynthia Kresse of Eureka Springs; John Lasater of Siloam Springs; Dusty Mitchell of Mountain View; Marc Mitchell, Hannah Moll and Kathy Thompson of Fayetteville; and Spencer Purinton of El Dorado.


In the beginning years of the “Delta,” prizes were purchase awards, but at some point the awards could not keep up with the artists’ cost of materials and value of works and were abandoned.