The Argenta Branch: Has proven costly to operate.

I have had the privilege of being a judge for the past several years for the Laman Library Writers Fellowship, a $10,000 grant awarded authors in all genres. Grif Stockley, Kevin Brockmeier, Mara Leveritt, Davis McCombs and Hope Coulter have all been named Laman Fellows.

This year, however, because of the library’s financial straits, detailed in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette on Sunday (subscription required) and apparently brought on by cost overruns at the Argenta Branch, the library will not name a fellow. Mary Furlough, the interim director at the library, has informed the judges that she hopes to be able to award the fellowship again some time in the future.